Weekly Shop & Meal Plan

A big part of being Mummy is making sure everyone is fed. This how I’m planning on feeding my boys this week;

Monday (yesterday): Mexican Beef Salad 

Tuesday: Beef Burgers & Sweet Potato Chips

Wednesday: Turkey Korma

Thursday: Beef & Chorizo Bake (Layered with sweet potato & feta)

Friday: bacon, leek & turkey with baked sweet potato and roasted broccoli 

Saturday: Bolognaise and courgette spaghetti

Sunday: Mothers Day so eating at Evan’s parents. 

I should point out really that we eat paleo/primal (occasional dairy/goats cheese) so the above week may seem a bit heavy on the red meat for some! 

Deducting the bits and pieces that we needed for the house (nappies, soap etc) this weeks food shop has just come in at £21.58 which I have to say is pretty good. Thrifty mama. 

That includes stuff for other meals too like eggs (We eat a lot of eggs in this house), Yoghurts for Sweeps, ham etc.

I find that a big part of managing a tight budget is: 

1. Shopping at a budget supermarket. We shop at Aldi which, if you don’t know it, is a German company who only stock their own brand, have limited choice and you shop straight off the pallets so they cut overheads but still provide good quality produce.  

2. Planning meals and planning to use all food. I bought two 750g packs of mince and am splitting it into 4 meals. We don’t have waste and everything gets eaten. There are people here who rely on food banks so I can’t justify chucking food away.

I hope that was interesting. Let me know if you would like more meal plans or recipes or to leave this subject alone!

2 thoughts on “Weekly Shop & Meal Plan

  1. Wow 21pound! Amazing. My partner and I spend at least 400 a month!! In HK Western food is super expensive and we also eat outside when work ends late. It’s very hard to eat well here. Maybe I could survive on hormone induces chicken feet?! Hehe

    Like

    1. It was probably our best! We’re living on just the one income so have to be clever about what we buy but we are lucky we can still get good quality food at such a low cost.
      400 a month is a lot! Not sure I would like seeing that receipt haha x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment